Osmond youth receive awards at Achievement Day

PIERCE — The Pierce County 4-H Achievement Day was held on Sunday, Oct. 27, in Pierce at the Pierce city auditorium. The 4-H

and adults youth

participated in 4-H trivia and bingo.

The Pierce County Shooting Sports 4-H Club led the program with the Pledge of Allegiance and the 4-H Pledge. Four-H Council members were thanked for their years of service, with special recognition for Gene Thomsen and Terri Polt, who served their last terms on the 4-H Council.

Clover Buds, first-year, fifthyear and 10thyear 4-H members were recognized and received certificates andtheirpins.The 4 leaders

-H were also recognized for their many years of volunteering. Leaders receiving special recognition were: first-year, Amy Lambrecht; fifth-year, Angie Huwaldt,Adrianne Krueger andAdam Thompson; 15th-year, Susan Craft, and 30th-year, Linda Latimer.

Also being recognized were the Nebraska State Fair Special Recognition article writers for the 2019 Norfolk Daily News 4-H Special Edition, and the youth who had participated in shooting sports contests through the year.

The 4-H members graduating from high school with the Class of 2020 will be Zachary Alderson, Cayce Carlson, Madeline Huwaldt, Becca Kment, Ethan Olson, Seth Valverde and Carissa Wacker. All seven of the graduating seniors were awarded an American Eagle silver coin by the Pierce County 4-H Council, for having been enrolled in 4-H for six or more years.

The Outstanding 4-H Alumni Award was presented to Kevin Flesner of Pierce. The Heart of 4-H Award was presented to Mark and Julie Oltjenbruns of Osmond.

The following awards are awarded based on the achievement application that is turned in to the Pierce 4-H Council and then voted upon. Receiving awards for their 4-H achievement applications were: Madeline Huwaldt of Osmond for beef, public speaking, home environment, leadership, and college and career preparation; Brandon Thomsen of Pierce for Shooting Sports and entomology; Sara Thomsen of Pierce for aerospace. Madeline Huwaldt’s application will advance to the state level to represent Pierce County.

The 4-H Event Scholarship was awarded to SaraThomsen.The Day Camp Scholarship was awarded to Brandon Thomsen. The Outstanding 4-H Achievement Application

awarded to was

Brandon Thomsen.

The following applied and received their level awards through the Nebraska 4-H Diamond Clover Program: Level 3 Ruby, Brandon Thomsen, and Level 4 Sapphire, Sara Thomsen.

The Outstanding 4-H Exhibitor is decided by the number of ribbons that a youth receives at the Pierce County Fair. Purples are worth 4 points; blues, 3; reds, 2, and whites, 1. The 2019 Outstanding 4-H Exhibitor is ZacharyAlderson of Osmond.

The Outstanding 4-H Member award is decided through an application process and is then voted upon at the 4-H council meeting. The 2019 Outstanding 4-H Member was awarded to Rachel Fenton of Pierce.

The Pierce County 4-H Council and Extension office staff extended thanks to trophy donors, adult leaders, volunteers, junior leaders and 4-H members for making the 2019 project year a great success. Pierce County had 193 4-H members enrolled with 1,258 projects exhibited at the Pierce County Fair.

Northeast Nebraska News Company

102 W. Main
Hartington NE 68739


News First