20 seniors to graduate with the Class of 2020

OSMOND — High school careers will come to a close for 20 Osmond High School seniors on Saturday, July 25. Commencement ceremonies will take place in the OHS gym at 2 p.m.

Honor Students Named

The four top-ranking seniors will present speeches during the ceremonies. In addition, the next two highest-ranking seniors will deliver the welcome and farewell for the program. Introducing the speakers will be Superintendent David Hamm.

Valedictorian of the Class of 2020 is Kennedy Johnson, daughter of Nickolas and Jessica Johnson. The salutatorian this year is Grace Broekemeier, daughter of Rob and Hillary Broekemeier.

Ranking third is Landon Stelling, son of Ross and Miriam Stelling. The fourth-ranking senior is Diandra Polt, daughter of Kurt and Sarah Polt.

Ranking fifth is Zachary Alderson, son Curtis Alderson and Jill Heemstra, who will deliver the welcome. Sixth-ranking is Madeline Huwaldt, who will give the farewell address. Madeline is the daughter of Brad and Marla Huwaldt.

Class Roll

Members of the Class of 2020 are: Zachary C. Alderson

Grace Lillian Broekemeier

Mason J. Bykerk Aaron Chishiba

Hannah Kamille Ferry

Joshua Everett Gansebom Madeline Lee Huwaldt

Kennedy Anne Johnson

Mary C. Kahny Gabriel Knepp

Brittany Amber Krienert

Justus D. Maertins Diandra P. Polt

Alexis Solorzano

Landon Bradley Stelling Logan Ronald Stelling

Keaton Lee Timmerman

Nicholas M. Timmerman Makenzie Christine Vargas Toledo

Ashley Mary Wingert

The Program

In addition to addresses by members of the senior class, the program includes presentation of American Legion Post 326 Awards and recognition of departing staff members by Dave Hamm, commander of American Legion Post 326 and superintendent of Osmond Community School.

The Osmond High School band and choir will not be performing during the ceremony and there will not be a congratulatory line for the graduates after the ceremony because of concerns for COVID-19.

Presenting the Class of 2020 will be Superintendent Hamm, after which diplomas will be awarded by Board of Education President Michelle Reikofski. The recessional will be presented by members of the graduating class.

Serving as escorts are juniors Connor Gutz and Hayle Krienert.

Senior Selections

The motto chosen by the Class of 2020 is “We grew together — now it is our freedom to go our separate ways to give what we can to the world.” The class flower is a rose, while the chosen colors are orange and black. The class sponsors are Jane Brummels and Kurt Polt.

The noblest question in the world is: What good may I do in it? — Benjamin Franklin


Stay in the know!

To get news alerts on your cell phone, get the Cedar County News app in the ITunes store or  in the Google Play Store.

Northeast Nebraska News Company

102 W. Main
Hartington NE 68739


News First