Knudsen files to be Laurel’s next Mayor

LAUREL — Laurel could have a new mayor next year.

Long-time Laurel City Councilman Keith Knudsen has filed a petition with the Cedar County Clerk’s office to run for a four-year term as Laurel’s Mayor.

Current Mayor Mark Patefield has not filed a petition seeking a third termin office. Patefield, and all other incumbents, have until Tuesday, Feb. 18, at 5 p.m., to file a petition with the Cedar County Clerk’s office seeking to retain their offices.

As of 8:30 a.m., Tuesday, only seven of the 21 elected officials up for election this year in Cedar County had filed to seek another term in office.

Non-incumbents who are interested in filing for the Primary Election don’t have long to do so either. The deadline for nonincumbents who wish to challenge for an elected position is March 2, at 5 p.m.

Candidates for Village Boards have until July 15 for incumbents to file and non-incumbents for those races have until Aug. 3 to file.

Only one county office is up for election this year.

Dist. 2 Cedar County Commissioner Craig Bartels is up for election this year. Bartels filed to seek re-election in December.

As of 5 p.m., Monday, Laurel City Council members Logan Garber and Chad Johnson had not yet filed for another term on the board.

Three of the four Laurel-Concord-Coleridge School Board members up for election have decided to seek another term in office. Carol Erwin, Dustin Thompson, Sam Recob and Tyler Specht are all up for election, but to date, all but Specht had decided to seek another term.

The Wynot and Randolph School Boards both have three Board slots open this year.

Only one of those incumbents, Jim Scott of Randolph, has thrown his hat in the ring to date.

Northeast Nebraska News Company

102 W. Main
Hartington NE 68739


News First