Published On: Thu, Jan 23rd, 2014

2014 is election year

KNOX COUNTY — It’s election time again, and the 2014 Primary Election will be held May 13.

Deadlines to file for office for the 2014 Primary Election are  Feb. 18, for incumbents (an incumbent is anyone serving in an elective office, even if they are filing for an office other than the one in which they are presently serving) and March 3 for non-incumbents.

Office races for the Primary Election are: Senatorial Office – United States Senator; Congressional Office – Representative in Congress 3rd District; State Offices – Governor; Secretary of State; Auditor of Public Accounts; State Treasurer; Attorney General. Other Offices – Member of Legislature-District 40; Member of Board of Governors of Northeast Community College District 2; Nebraska Public Power District-Subdivision 20.  County Offices – County Assessor; County Attorney; County Clerk; Clerk of the District Court; County Treasurer; County Sheriff; County Surveyor; County Supervisors Districts 1, 3, 5 and 7, and Delegates to County Conventions.  Natural Resource Districts – Lewis & Clark NRD Subdistricts 1, 2, 3 and At Large; Lower Elkhorn NRD Subdistrict 1 and At Large; Lower Niobrara NRD Subdistricts 1 through 8 and At Large;  Foreign Hospital Board – Tri-County Hospital Board (Boyd County)  Knox County Class III Schools – Creighton, Wausa, Bloomfield, Crofton, Niobrara and Nebraska Unified District #1 – Verdigre School; Foreign School Districts – Lynch, Nebraska Unified District #1 – Orchard School, Plainview, and Osmond.  City Offices – Mayor and two Council Members At Large for the Cities of Bloomfield, Creighton and Crofton, and one member to each of the Bloomfield and Creighton Airport Authorities.

The 2014 General Election will be held Nov. 4. The filing deadlines for the General Election are July 15 for incumbents and Aug. 1 for non-incumbents. General Election races are: Judges’ Retention; Township Boards; Public Power Districts – Cedar-Knox PPD Subdivision 3 and North Central PPD Subdivisions 2 and 3; Educational Service Unit #1 – District 11; Educational Service Unit #8 -Districts 1 and 3; Knox County Class II School – Santee; Village Boards – Bazile Mills, Center, Niobrara, Santee, Verdel, Verdigre, Wausa and Winnetoon.

Please call Knox County Clerk Joann Fischer at 402-288-5604 with any questions you may have.