Published On: Wed, Aug 27th, 2014

County Supervisor form of government is dwindling

WAUSA — Nebraska’s 93 counties operate under organized county governments that receive their powers from the state constitution and state


County government in Nebraska is organized in one of two models: township counties or commissioner counties.

Knox County is one of 26 counties that operate under a township form of government.

Knox County Supervisors held a public hearing Aug. 14 to discuss and consider possible discontinuance of the township form of government.

In the township form of government the county is sub-divided into organized townships and the county is governed by a seven-member board of Supervisors.