Published On: Wed, Feb 22nd, 2012

Time is running out for potential office seekers

HARTINGTON —   Filing dates for the November 2012 General Election are closing in.

Non-incumbents still have a chance to file for school boards, cities and the county commissioner spot in Dist. Two, as the filing deadline is coming up March 1.

The deadline for incumbents is past, as the last date to file was Feb. 15.

All incumbents up for election on the Hartington School Board and the Hartington City Council have refiled for their current seats.

Incumbents Ron Pearson, Doug Miller and Gerri Jueden all filed for the Hartington School Board in January.

Tim Burbach and Deb Addison, both incumbents on the Hartington City Council, have filed.

An incumbent that sits on the Coleridge School Board and one member of the Laurel Board of Education did not file by the deadline.

Karla Hansen, who has served on the Coleridge School Board since 1997, did not file for re-election.

Robert Colwell and Marlin Papenhausen, two of the three incumbents in the Coleridge School District, have filed for re-election.

The three incumbents for the Wynot School Board included Alison Lange, Danny Wieseler and Dean Heine. All three have filed for re-election.

The 2012 Primary Election will not include ballots for Village Board members. Village Board members are selected at the General Election in November.

Incumbents on Village Boards have until July 15 to file.

The deadline for non-incumbents to file for election is Aug. 1.

Wynot has had three filings for spots on the Village Board.

Two non-incumbents, Charles Jones and Ron Rolfes have filed along with incumbent John Eskins, Jr. Incumbent Steve Orwig has not filed yet.

Daniel Thoene and Cory Sudbeck are the incumbents on the Fordyce Village Board. Thoene filed for re-election in January.