Published On: Sat, Aug 23rd, 2008

Wynot falls short in state title bid

wynot-web-pict.jpgMITCHELL,  S.D. — One more out.
Despite limping into the finals with several injuries, that’s all the Wynot Expos needed to secure a 12-11 South Dakota State Class B Amateur Baseball Tournament title Sunday.
Wynot put together a huge six-run eighth-inning comeback against the Dell Rapids Mudcats to take the 12-11 lead and put themselves in position to win their second title.
Wynot won the South Dakota title in 1999 and took runner-up honors in 2006.
Eric Hames retired the first two Dell Rapids’ batters in the ninth inning to put the Expos on the verge of their second championship in nine years. He forced Matt Wilbur to pop up and then sent Justin Siemonsma to the showers with a four-pitch strikeout to put the Wynot fans in the stands on their feet.
Dell Rapids’ Bob Wilson had no intention of going down easily, though. Wilson worked Heimes for a full count, then managed a walk to set the table for the Mudcat offense.

Dells’ Ryan Breiting then singled to left to set up the rally. Dell Rapids catcher Brian Plannenstein then took one for the team as he was hit by a Hames pitch to load the bases.
That brought lead-off batter and tournament MVP Jesse Kurtenbach to the plate. Kurtenbach delivered with a two-out single to third to tie the game at 12-12. Travis Peters then drove in two more with his single to center field. Dell Rapids’ next batter, Nate Henry, also singled to drive in a run and chase Hames from the mound. Scott Morrison then came in to shut down the Dell Rapids offense, but the damage had already been done.
Wynot rallied in their half of the final frame, utilizing hits by Matt Hames and Lee Heimes to put runners on. An RBI single by Scott Heimes then got the two-out rally started. Shawn Koch grounded out to the shortstop to kill the rally and end the game, though.
Wynot started Sunday’s contest out in fine fashion,
The Expos jumped out to a 2-1 lead after the first inning of play in the championship game.
The Mudcats opened the contest by putting one run on the board against starting pitcher Tyler Heine.
Dell Rapids’ Jesse Kurtenbach got things going when he reached base on an error. Travis Peters then drove him home on a sacrifice fly. Tyler Heine was then replaced on the mound by Bill Guenther, a pick-up player from Crofton.
Wynot’s bats came to life early when lead-off batter Matt Hames smacked a lead-off single down the left field line. Nick Hegge then hit into a fielder’s choice to eliminate Hames. Lee Heimes then showed his power by driving the ball over Cadwell Park’s green monster in left field for a two-run homer. The Mudcats’ rated as one of the top teams in South Dakota this year, touched up Guenther in the second frame for four more runs to take a 5-2 lead.
Chase Rolfes then showed his power in the second frame, connecting on a home run after Lee Heimes had drawn a walk. This cut the deficit to just one run, 5-4, after two innings.
Dell Rapids plated four more runners over the next three frames, while Wynot was only able to muster one more run to make the score 9-4 after five frames.
Klif Kephart finally got the Wynot offense going when he tripled in the sixth inning and came home on a Lee Heimes single to cut the deficit to 9-5.Wynot made it 9-6 in the seventh when
Dell Rapids stretched its lead in the eighth with a two-run inning, but Wynot took advantage of some poor Mudcat pitches to explode for six runs in their half of the eighth and regain the lead for the first time since the first inning.
Chase Rolfes reached base in the eighth with a fielder’s choice. He then moved to second on a Matt Hames single and scored on a Nick Hegge single. Lee Heimes’ single then loaded the bases for Scott Heimes, who smacked a double to drive in two more runs. A Dell Rapids error then allowed two more Wynot runs to score. The Expos final run of the frame came when Drew Lawrence doubled to bring in Shawn Koch.

Wynot’s offense was led during the tournament by Lee Heimes, who smacked 10 hits in the tourney and finished with a .476 tournament batting average. He also belted three homers and drove in 11 runners, while scoring eight runs of his own.
Eric Hames handled most of the pitching duties for Wynot, putting in 23 innings over the course of the tourney. He ended the event with 16 strikeouts, holding opposing batters to a batting average of .234.
Dell Rapids     1    4    1    2    1    0    0    2    4    15    15    1    7
Wynot    2    2    0    0    0    1    1    6    1    13    16    2    10

Dell Rapids    1    4    1    2    1    0    0    2    4 — 15
Wynot    2    2    0    0    0    1    1    6    1 — 13

DIMOCK-EMERY 1: Wynot scored one run in six of the nine innings to reach the final. Lee Heimes had an RBI triple and homer, Scott Heimes two triples and Nick Hegge two singles. For Dimock-Emery, Doug Sudbeck and Bill Sudbeck each singled twice and Toby Privett had an RBI double.