Published On: Thu, Dec 27th, 2007

Cedar stumbles against Dodge

HARTINGTON — Cedar Catholic got off to a very cold start here Tuesday in the Trojans’ final pre-Holiday start of the season.
The cold start allowed Dodge to take control of the contest and race out to a 49-41 win.
Dodge opened up with an 11-5 first-quarter advantage in the first-ever meeting between the two schools.
The Pirates then strung together an 18-9 second-quarter run to lift them to a 29-14 halftime lead over the home team.

Cedar was able to outscore the visitors from the south in the second half, but it wasn’t enough to erase the early deficit.
The Trojans dropped in 12 points in the third quarter, while Dodge could only manage seven. Cedar took a 15-13 scoring advantage in the final frame.
Cedar was led on offense in the contest by sophomore Kevin Wintz, who burned the nets for a career-high 15 points. Kyle Kramer added nine and Andy Dickes chipped in with seven from the paint.
Bryan Ruzek led three Pirate players in double figures with 19 points.

Dodge    11    18    7    13—49
Cedar    5    9    12    15—41

Cedar – Kevin Wintz, 15; Kyle Kramer, 9; Andy Dickes, 7; Tyson Leise, 4; Tony Heine, 4; Tim Wieseler, 2.  Dodge – Bryan Ruzek, 19; Jeff Ruskamp, 14; Adam Ortmeier, 10; Danny Hassler, 3; Chris Tomasek, 2; Mitch Hagedorn, 1.

North Dakota wide receiver Weston Dressler was a Little All-American for the second season. West Liberty State’s Almonzo Banks, with 88 catches for 1,331 yards and 18 TDs, was the other receiver and Kolo Kapanui from West Texas A&M was the tight end.
Joining Dressler and Woodhead as two-time Little All-Americans were offensive linemen Ben Hochstein of Nebraska-Omaha and Heath Benedict of Newberry.
Mackenzy Bernadeau of Bentley and Tim McCutcheon of California, Pa., were the other first-team offensive linemen.
Abilene Christian running back Bernard Scott is the third Harlon Hill finalist and was a second-team Little All-America selection.
The trophy was awarded Friday to Woodhead. It was the second straight year he had earned the honor  as the nation’s top NCAA Division II player.
Woodhead received 175 total points in the voting and held a commanding 53-point margin over Abilene Christian junior running back Bernard Scott.

The award is the division’s equivalent of the Heisman Trophy and was presented in front of a crowd of 400 at the 22nd annual Harlon Hill Trophy award banquet on the eve of the national championship game between Northwest Missouri State and Valdosta State.
The defensive backs were Randy Kush of Nebraska-Omaha, Cary
Williams of Washburn, Kendall Ricketts of Central Missouri and Matt
Kostelnik of Mount Union.

The Purple Raiders, who will play for their third straight
Division III championship Saturday against Wisconsin-Whitewater,
also placed offensive lineman Derek Blanchard on the second team
and quarterback Greg Micheli, running back Nate Kmic and defensive
lineman Pat McCullough on the third team.

AP-CS-12-13-07 1333EST