Published On: Wed, Jul 27th, 2011

Wynot claims Cedar County League title

The Wynot Expos are the 2011 Cedar County League Champions. Members and coaches for the team include, (back row, l-r) Manager Terry Foxhoven, Aaron Burbach, Justin Leise, Brett Wiebelhaus, Seth Doxey, Bryan Wakulinski, Todd Pinkelman, Andrew Dreesen; (front) Equipment manager Kyle Heimes, Don Whitmire, Ryan Heimes, Lance Heine, Matt Hames, Lee Heimes, Ryan Eskens, Scott Heimes, Not pictured are Chase Rolfes, Scott Morrison, Brett Klug, Eric Hames and Steve Heimes.

WYNOT — The Wynot Expos wrapped up Cedar County League action last week by claiming the league tournament trophy.
Wynot finished the Cedar County League with a 10-3 record. Wynot is 15-3 in the South Central League.
Wynot is now in the midst of South Dakota Class B post-season action.
The Expos are the top seed in the District.

Wynot opened the tournament with a 20-0 whitewashing of Scotland at Lesterville last Saturday.
The Expos were slated to play fourth-seeded Irene in second-round action Tuesday night.
The winner of that game will then take on the winner of the Crofton-Tabor game in the July 30 championship game.
The South Central League will send four teams to the State Tournament in Mitchell, S.D. this year.
In Saturday’s game, Wynot starter Scott Morrison only allowed Scotland to collect three hits on the night.

The Expo offense had little trouble figuring out Scotland’s pitching, though, connecting for 21 hits, including two Todd Pinkelman home runs and a dinger by Scott Heimes.
Don Whitmire, Seth Doxey, Steve Heimes and Ryan Eskins all doubled for Wynot.
Scotland   000  00 — 0
Wynot       263  9X — 20