Published On: Wed, Mar 30th, 2011

Dickes, Schulte named to First Team


Wynot freshman Maggie Schulte was named to the Class D2 First Team by the Omaha World Herald.

OMAHA — Four Cedar County athletes were named to First or Second Team All State teams by the Omaha World Herald.

Cedar Catholic senior Dana Dickes and Wynot freshman Maggie Schulte were named to the Class C2 and Class D2 First Teams, respectively. Dickes and Moser were both named as Second Team All Staters last week by the Lincoln Journal Star.
Dickes was also named as the captain on the Norfolk Daily News Elite Eight All Area Team.
Cedar Catholic’s Andy Moser was named to the Class C2 Second Team All State team. Clinton Lackas of Randolph earned Second Team honors in Class D1.
Several other area athletes picked up All State Honorable Mention honors from the Omaha newspaper.
Cedar Catholic’s Kyle Klug, Logan Feilmeier and Zach Steffen all earned spots on the honor team. Lady Trojans Tracy Peitz, Kendra Lammers and Katelyn Dickes also earned spots on the Class C2 Honorable Mention team.
Laurel-Concord had four athletes make the All State Honorable Mention team: Mandy Nelson, Jade Cunningham, Morgan Arduser, and Leanna Gubbels.
Three Randolph girls earned Honorable Mention status on the All State team: Kirsten Fink, Lacey Thies and Emily Schnoor.
Wynot High School had four girls and five boys named to the Class D2 Honorable Mention All State team:
Shelby Wieseler, Bailey Kuchta, Kattie Savoy, Kelsie Higgins. Michael Wieseler, Devin Wieseler, Chad Boeckman, Cody Stappert, Austin Wieseler.
First Team
Levi Gipson            Lincoln Christn        Jr
Connor Beranek    Ravenna                Jr
Trevor Cyboron        Ravenna                Jr
Spencer Morrissey    Fremont Bergan        Sr
Alex Thayer            Superior                Sr
Boys Second Team
Garth Walbridge    Arapahoe                Sr
Andy Moser            Cedar Catholic        Sr
John Spellerberg    Fremont Bergan        Sr
Lance Spongberg    Sutton                    Jr
Andrew Vinton        N Platte St. Pat        Jr
Boys Second Team
Kale Anderson        Sandhills/Thedford    Sr
Dwight Hanzel        Humphrey                Sr
Neal Sheridan        Omaha Nation        Sr
Bryce Runge            Axtell                    Sr
Clinton Lackas        Randolph                Sr

Girls First Team
Jamie Van Kirk        Sutton                    Sr
Dana Dickes            Cedar Catholic        Sr
Joelle Andersen        Lincoln Christian         Sr
Mallory Weaver        Norfolk Lutheran        Sr
Cara Olerich            Homer                    Jr
Girls First Team
Katie Johnson        Mead                    Sr
Laramey Lewis        Hitchcock County        Jr
Andrea Weeder        Lindsay Holy Fam    Jr
Maggie Schulte        Wynot                    Fr
Kelsey Kudrna        Hay Springs            Jr

Wynot High School dominated the All Conference team this year. Selected to the honor teams were Kattie Savoy, Haley Gowery, Bailey Kuchta and Britney Heine; and (front) Shelby Wieseler. Not pictured is Maggie Schulte.

Michael Wieseler, Cody Stappert and Devin Wieseler all earned spots on the Lewis and Clark West Division First Team, while Chad Boeckman (front) earned All Conference Honorable Mention status.