Published On: Wed, Mar 30th, 2011

Cedar athletes earn All-Conf. honors


Cedar Catholic senior Andy Moser was the second-highest scorer in Cedar County in 2011, trailing only Randolph’s Clinton Lackas. Moser ended his high school basketball career with 831 career points. Moser was recently named as a member of the Second Team All State team by both the Omaha World Herald and Lincoln Journal Star.

HARTINGTON — Cedar Catholic’s two varsity basketball teams each landed two players on the MidStates Conference All Conference First Team.

Cedar senior Andy Moser was a repeat selection on the team. Junior Kyle Klug also earned a spot on the elite team.
Klug was just one of two juniors to make it onto the First Team. Wayne’s Gage Rethwisch was also named to the squad.
Seniors Dana Dickes and Tracy Peitz were named to the girls All Conference First Team.
Two other Cedar boys basketball players were selected for the MidState Conference Honorable Mention Team. Senior Aaron Steffen and junior Zach Steffen earned spots on that list.
Katelyn Dickes and Kendra Lammers also earned All Conference Honorable Mention status for Cedar.
The MidStates Conference had two state champions in this year’s boys state tournaments — Norfolk Catholic and West Point CC . Two other conference teams — Cedar Catholic and Wayne — also advanced to the state tournament.
Three MidStates girls teams advanced to this year’s State Tournamnts with Cedar and WPCC both taking home third-place trophies.

MidStates Conference
Andy Moser            Cedar             Sr
Kyle Klug            Cedar             Jr
Ethan Brozak            Norf Cath         Sr
Ben Uhing            Norf Cath        Sr
Alex Striven            WPCC            Sr
Connor Schultz        Pierce            Sr
Brock Schroeder    Pierce            Sr
Jacob Zeiss             Wayne            Sr
Gage Rethwisch    Wayne            Jr
Victor Romero        Madison        Sr
MidStates Conference
Aarron Steffen        Cedar             Sr.
Zach Steffen            Cedar             Jr
Nathan Ulrich        WPCC
Cody Stalpe            WPCC
Anthony Ridder        WPCC
Michael Hoffman    Pierce
Brandon Freeman    Pierce
Erick Becker            Norf Cath
Connor Ketter        Norf Cath
Luke Lyons            Norf Cath
Drew Farlee            Norf Cath
Austin Erickson        Battle Creek
Trey Sorrell            Boone Central
Beau Bremmer        Boone Central
Brett Temme            Boone Central
Jalen Berry            Wayne
Jalen Berry            Wayne
Jalen Berry            Wayne

First Team
Michaela Barry        Battle Creek        Soph
Bobbi Beckwith        Boone Central        Sr
Jenna Lehmann        Boone Central        Jr
Dana Dickes            Cedar Catholic    Sr
Tracy Peitz            Cedar Catholic    Sr
Alayna Daberkow    Madison            Soph
Erin Anderson        Norfolk Catholic    Sr
Caitlin Fehringer    Wayne                Jr
Katie Hoskins         Wayne                Jr
Beth Stratmann        WPCC                Sr

Honorable Mention
Katelynn Zila            Battle Creek        Soph
Jaime Kennedy        Boone Central        Jr
Katelyn Dickes        Cedar Catholic    Soph
Kendra Lammers    Cedar Catholic    Sr
Lluvia Santillan        Madison            Sr
M Buckendahl        Pierce                Jr
Rachel Wiedenfeld    Pierce                Soph
Payton Wragge         Pierce                Jr
Kristen Boyle            Norfolk Catholic    Sr
Katrina Olmer        Norfolk Catholic    Jr
Lacey Prusa            Norfolk Catholic    Sr
Jalyn Zeiss            Wayne                Fr
Lindsey Boyum        WPCC                Sr
Emily Knobbe        WPCC                Soph
Abby Ortmeier        WPCC                Soph
Hailey Steuter        WPCC                Jr

Cedar Catholic's Kendra Lammers, Tracy Peitz, Dana Dickes and Katelyn Dickes all earned spots on the MidStates Conference All Conference teams.

Cedar Catholic's Kyle Klug, Zach Steffen, Aaron Steffen and Andy Moser all earned spots on the MidStates Conference All Conference teams.