Published On: Thu, Jan 30th, 2014

Seven Cedar Co. incumbents have refiled

HARTINGTON—Seven incumbents in Cedar County positions have filed for re-election.

The only county official who has not filed for re-election is Treasurer Carol Wortmann.

County Attorney George Hirschbach, Republican, filed for re-election on Jan. 14, along with Sheriff Larry Koranda and District Court Clerk Janet Wiechelman, both Republicans.

Democrats who filed for re-election at the same time include Cedar County Clerk David Dowling and Assessor Don Hoesing.

Both County Commissioners finishing their current terms are filing for re-election. Terry Pinkelman, Democrat, filed for re-election in District 1. David McGregor, Republican, filed for re-election in District 3.

Also filing for re-election are Hartington Public School Board members Brenda Steiner, Colin Kathol and Jason Dendinger in the eighth school district.

All of these officials are filing for four-year terms.

Currently, incumbents from the Randolph and Wynot Boards of Education have not filed for re-election.

All of the city and village incumbent officials up for re-election in the county have also not yet filed.

Incumbents in Cedar County must file for re-election by Feb. 15.

Primary elections will be May 13 and the general election will be Nov. 4.